Skip to content


The mission of the Green Ribbon Commission is to accelerate the implementation of the City’s Climate Action Plan by convening, organizing, and enabling leaders from Boston’s key sectors.


Strategic Plan

As the GRC entered its second decade, it engaged in the strategic planning process to determine where to go from here, and how the GRC network can add the most value in this next phase of city climate work.


Boston is a global leader in climate resilience and emissions reductions and helps demonstrate the “art of the possible” in ways that inspire others to aggressive action.


Most Green Ribbon Commission members serve on at least one of five different working groups. Working groups are focused either on solving problems and spurring action in specific sectors or on cross-cutting approaches that address key climate issues across the City and region.

Amos Hostetter, Jr.

Co-Chair Trustee
Barr Foundation

Mayor Michelle Wu

City of Boston

Kathy Abbott

Founding President and Chief Executive Officer
Boston Harbor Now

Dr. Alastair Bell

President and CEO
Boston Medical Center Health System

Robert Brown

Boston University

Bill DiCroce

President and Chief Executive Officer
Vicinity Energy

John Donohue

Arbella Mutual Insurance Company

Dan Egan

First Vice President, Investments
Equity Residential

David Gillespie

Senior Vice President
AvalonBay Communities

Jeremy Grantham

Founder and Chief Investment Strategist

Peter Hamill

Senior Vice President and Regional General Manager, New England
Turner Construction Company

Reverend Ray Hammond

Bethel African Methodist Episcopal Church

David Hardy

Group EVP and CEO
Ørsted, Americas Region

Melissa Hoffer

Climate Chief, Office of Climate Innovation and Resilience
Commonwealth of Massachusetts

Sarah Iselin

President and CEO
Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts

Dr. Anne Klibanski

President & CEO
Mass General Brigham

Bryan Koop

Executive Vice President

Alex Liftman

Global Environmental Executive
Bank of America

Mindy Lubber

President and CEO

Penni McLean-Conner

Senior Vice President, Customer Group

Michael Mooney

Chairman Emeritus
Nutter McClennen & Fish

Tom Nedell

Senior Vice President and Chief Financial Officer
Northeastern University

Ron O’Hanley

Chairman and CEO
State Street Corporation

Lee Pelton

President and CEO
The Boston Foundation

Bud Ris

Senior Advisor
Boston Green Ribbon Commission

Al Scaramelli

Managing Director
Beacon Capital Partners

Oliver Sellers-Garcia

Green New Deal Director
City of Boston

Glen Shor

Executive Vice President and Treasurer
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Vikki Spruill

President and CEO
New England Aquarium

Marcelo Suárez-Orozco

University of Massachusetts Boston

Brian Swett

Principal, Americas East Leader

Rebecca Tepper

Secretary of the Executive Office of Energy and Environmental Affairs (EEA)
Commonwealth of Massachusetts

Mariama White-Hammond

Chief of Energy, Environment, and Open Space
City of Boston

Meredith Weenick

Executive Vice President
Harvard University

Stephen Woerner

President, New England
National Grid

Gwill York

Founding Managing Director, Lighthouse Capital Partners;
Board of Trustees President, Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum


  • City of Boston
  • A Better City
  • Boston Harbor Now
  • Health Care Without Harm
  • Innovation Network for Communities
  • King Boston
  • MassCEC
  • Northeastern University
  • Slowey McManus Communications
  • The Experience Alchemists
  • Trust


Amy Longsworth

Executive Director
Boston Green Ribbon Commission

Azanta Thakur

Project Manager
Boston Green Ribbon Commission

John Cleveland

Strategic Advisor
Boston Green Ribbon Commission

Bud Ris

Senior Advisor
Boston Green Ribbon Commission

Institutional Funders